Al Church Scholarship

The Al Church Scholarship was established by the AFSCME Council 65 Executive Board in 1985 to help support union members' families in funding their education. The scholarship honors Al Church who was the founder and first director of Council 65. We hold an annual fundraiser to raise money for the scholarship fund which allows the Scholarship Committee to award multiple scholarships. To find out more about Al and his accomplishments, click the link below. 

PDF icon Who Is Al Church?

Interested in Applying?

Dependents of members in good standing of Council 65 who are or will be attending a post-secondary educational institution in the State of Minnesota or a state that has a reciprocity agreement with the State of Minnesota are eligible to apply. Dependents mean Council 65 members’ children or grandchildren or grandchildren of dues-paying members of the Council 65 Retiree Chapter.

Please fill out the application form below and submit to the Council 65 office. See application form for directions on how to submit and submission deadline.

SCHOLARSHIP APPLICATION FORM: PDF icon Al Church Scholarship Application 2021-2022

Interested in Donating?

Please help us continue this tradition of supporting members' families by donating to the Al Church Scholarship fund. Those who donate will be entered into a drawing for a chance to win one of three $250.00 prizes. Each $25.00 donation equals one drawing entry.  Donations of $100.00 or more equal five drawing entries. 

If you would like to donate, please fill out the donation form below and mail to the Council 65 office. See donation form for mailing address and donation deadline. 

DONATION FORM: PDF icon Al Church Scholarship 2021-2022 Donation Form

The Al Church Scholarship Committee thanks you for your continued support!

Other Scholarships Available to AFSCME Members

AFSCME union members are also elibigle to apply for scholarships provided by AFSCME International. Click here for more information.