About Us

We are AFSCME Council 65

America’s communities never rest. Streets need cleaning. Families need care. Students deserve well-run schools, and our neighborhoods demand safety. That’s why people who work in public service never stop. This isn’t just a job. It’s a calling. The work matters because it means something to make a community better.

AFSCME Council 65 believes that every person working to sustain their community deserves respect. As part of the AFL-CIO, AFSCME is one of the the leading advocates for working women and men in Minnesota. We represent 13,500 members across Minnesota, South Dakota and North Dakota who provide the vital services that make our communiteis work, and we believe everyone deserves a chance to earn a living wage, good benefits, and the freedom to organize together to negotiate their terms and conditions of employment.

AFSCME Council 65 is the union that honors solidarity without conformity, drawing each member’s story into a force of experience and commitment that can’t be ignored. That’s how we win better lives for ourselves, our families, and our communities. For people proudly committed to public service, we never quit.

We are AFSCME Council 65, join us.


President- Executive Board
Council 65 President, Mark Reger
Executive Director
Executive Director, Serena Vergin
Vice President- Executive Board
Associate Director
Shannon Douvier, Associate Director
Organizing Director
Organizing Director, Jo Musel Parr
Office Manager
Office Manager, Linda Kresal
Executive Board Member - Local 105
Executive Board Member, Deb Tauer
Executive Board Member, District #1
Executive Board Member, Michelle Johnson
Executive Board Member, District #2
Executive Board Member, Amanda Due
Executive Board Member - District #3
Kevin O'Laughlin
Executive Board Member - District #4
Executive Board member, Todd Larson
Executive Board Member, SD and ND
Executive Board Member, Todd Warne
At Large Board Member
Executive Board member, Trent Stewart
At Large Board Member
Executive Board Member, Eric Anderson
Trustee 2018
Trustee, Becky Brandt
Dawn Cullifer, Trustee
Retiree President
Retiree President, Cheryl Jones
Clerical Staff
Michelle Rice, Clerical Staff
Clerical Staff
Lynn Warwas, Clerical Staff
Staff Attorney
Teresa Joppa, Staff Attorney
Labor Representative/ Arbitrations
Sarah Lewerenz, Labor Representative/ Arbitration Specialist
Lead Organizer
Thor Backus, Lead Organizer
Lead Organizer
Joseph Schulte, Lead Organizer
Labor Representative
Keith Ferrington, Labor Representative
Labor Representative
Tim Hoshal, Labor Representative
Labor Representative
Ginger Thrasher, Labor Representative
Labor Representative
Chris Kapella, Labor Representative
Labor Representative
Sheila Pokorny, Labor Representative
Labor Representative
Leann Stoll, Labor Representative
Labor Representative
Amanda Metsa, Labor Representative
Labor Representative
Mary Scoon, Labor Representative
Labor Representative
Troy Bauch
Labor Representative
Eric Austin, Labor Representative
Labor Representative
Luke Langner, Labor Representative
Labor Representative
Kooper Caraway, Labor Representative South Dakota
Labor Representative
Labor Representative, Rafael Espinosa