Minnesota's Frontline Worker Payments


Since the earliest days of the pandemic, AFSCME 65 has been fighting to protect Minnesota's Frontline Workers and to recognize the sacrifices they made to keep our communities safe and healthy. For almost two years, AFSCME 65 members have been asking legislators to keep their promise and support frontline workers. On April 29, 2022, Governor Walz signed Frontline Worker Pay into law. It includes $500 million for checks to qualifying frontline workers. 

The application window is expected to open sometime in early June and will be open for 45 days. 

Sign up for updates at: https://frontlinepay.mn.gov

Qualifying Frontline Sectors: 

  1. Building Services, Maintenance, Janitorial & Security;
  2. Child Care
  3. Courts & Corrections;
  4. Emergency Responders;
  5. Food Services, Food Production, Processing, Preparation, Sale & Delivery; 
  6. Ground & Air Transportation Services;
  7. Health Care;
  8. Long-Term Care & Home Care;
  9. Manufacturing;
  10. Public Health; Social Services; & Regulatory Services
  11. Public Transit;
  12. Retail; Sales. Fulfillment; Distribution & Delivery;
  13. Schools;
  14. Temporary Shelters, Hotels;
  15. Vocational Rehabilitation, including Developmental Achievement Centers.

Work Requirements:

  • You have worked at least 120 hours in Minnesota in the frontline sectors above.  between March 15, 2020, and June 30, 2021(Approximately 3 weeks)
  • For at least 120 working hours, you were not able to telework due to the nature of your work.
  • For at least 120 working hours, you worked in close proximity to people outside your household.
  • For at least one year between December 31, 2019 and January 1, 2022, your income meets the following requirements:

Workers with direct COVID-19 patient care responsibilities- an adjusted gross income of less than $350,000 for married taxpayers filing jointly or less than $175,000 for single/other filers.

Workers without direct COVID-19 patient care responsibilities- an adjusted gross income of less than $185,000 for married taxpayers filing jointly, or $85,000 for single/other filers

  • You cannot have received an unemployment insurance payment for more than 20 cumulative weeks between March 15, 2020 and June 26, 2021.